Photo Copyright - Philip Plisson.
Please note that any items in RED means there is a fuller version relating to this particular name or subject, which can be found in the Main Search index.
Position: 54°18.4' N 8°37.0' W
Location: Black Rock Island
Present Tower Built: 1835
(previously unlit beacon built by Thomas Ham of Ballina 1819)
Tower Composition: Solid limestone
Height of Tower: 82 ft (25 m)
Designer: George Halpin (snr)
Builder: Corporation for Preserving and Improving the Port of Dublin
Focal Height of Light: 78 ft 9 ins (24 m) above mean high water
First Lit: September 1835
Light Characteristic: White flash every 5 seconds.
Visible range on clear night: nominal 13 nautical miles
Auxiliary Light: over Wheat and Seal Rocks
Light Characteristic: Red flash every 3 seconds
Visible Range on clear night: nominal 5 nautical miles
An unlit beacon of solid limestone, built by Thomas Ham of Ballina, was completed in 1819.
Work to convert the beacon to a lighthouse was completed in 1835.
A spiral staircase around the solid base of the original beacon leads to the entrance door of the tower, well above the high water mark.
The lighthouse was automated in 1934 when the light was converted from oil to acetylene gas.
The light was converted to electric in 1965.