Dales, Francis (Life span unknown)
Recorded as the designer of the Humber lighthouses of Paull and Killingholme in 1836
Dawson, E. (Life span unknown)
Born and bred in Whitehaven on the northwest coast of England. Very little is known about this engineer except he is recorded as the designer of the Walney lighthouse (1790).
Douglass, Nicholas (Born 1798 Died ???)
Was the father of two famous sons within lighthouse circles. Both James and William became Engineers-in-Chief for two Lighthouse Corporations. They also made history by being in these positions at the same time. James with Trinity House and William with the Commissioners of Irish Lights.
Nicholas Douglass entered Trinity House as an engineer in 1839 and later he was appointed as the Superintendent Constructional Engineer. He was involved with the first fated Bishop Rock lighthouse and the original granite tower that replaced it. Several stone beacons are also accredited to him around the south-west of England.
Douglass, Sir James Nicholas (1826-98)
He served as Engineer-in-Chief for Trinity House for a period of 29 years (1863-92).
Also this position with the Corporation made him the first Chief Engineer. Prior to this time all the other engineers were consultants with their own practices. This appointment followed the sudden death of James Walker and during the construction of the Wolf Rock lighthouse.
He was the resident engineer for the Smalls lighthouse between 1855-61. He is accredited with the design of 20 new lighthouse towers and the third Bishop Rock station. His design and contribution to the preservation of the mariner gained him a Knighthood in June 1882 following the successful completion of the Eddystone light.
His best known contribution was the helical lantern. (Full description under helical)
(More details available in Reference Source)
Return To Main Search
Douglass, William (1831-1923)
The younger son of Nicholas Douglass who carried on the family tradition of Civil Engineering. When his brother James became Engineer-in-Chief for Trinity House, he took over as the Resident Engineer for the completion of Wolf Rock (1869). He also designed the second Longships lighthouse, prior to taking up his appointment of Engineer-in-Chief for the Commissioners of Irish Lights in 1878.
William Douglass served with Trinity House for 26 years and with the Commissioners of Irish Lights for 20 years. On his appointment with the Irish Lighthouse Board he supervised the completion of Straw Island. While in this position he was responsible for the design and application of 8 new lighthouse towers, including the second Fasnet Rock.
Douglass, William Tregarthen (Life Span Unknown)
Son of Sir James Nicholas Douglass, nephew to William. One of his first projects was in 1878 when he assisted his father during the building of the Eddystone lighthouse. However during this contract he miraculously avoided being killed, when a safety chain he was leaning against snapped. He then fell 69 ft (21m) from the top of the partly completed tower. Yet instead of being dashed on to the rocks below, a freak wave cushioned his fall. The workers were able to rescue him with the only injuries being a few bruises. On completion of this contract he was appointed by Trinity House to be the Resident Engineer for the rebuilding of the Bishop Rock tower, plus the establishment of a new station for the Isles of Scilly, Round Island. Both of these contract were carried out at the same time.
In 1887 he left Trinity House to set up his own Engineering Consultancy Practice.
His untimely death occurred following serious exposure to the elements after a boating incident.