Please note that any items in RED means there is a fuller version relating to this particular name or subject, which can be found in the Main Search index.
Position: 53°18.0' N 6°8.0' W (East Pier)
Position: 53°18.0' N 6°8.0' W (WestPier) (noted as same reference)
Location: Dun Laoghaire, Co Dublin, Ireland
East Tower Established: 1822 & modernised 1847
West Tower Established: 1845 during moderisation of East light (Upgraded 1852)
Tower Composition: Locally quarried stone
Focal Height of East Tower light: 41 ft (12.5 m)
Focal Height of West Tower light: 36 ft (11 m)
Designer: Not known at this time
First Lit: (Both 1847 lights) October 1847
Light Characteristic: White Flash sequences
Visible Range on clear night: nominal 9 nautical miles (east)
Visible Range on clear night: nominal 5 nautical miles (west)
Automated: March 1955 (east)
Automated: August 1930 (west)
These lights are located at the end of the East & West Piers of Dun Laoghaire Harbour. They were built to guide ships into the harbour that were waiting to get into the Port of Dublin.
In 1909 a fog horn was added to West Pier station following a formal request from the London North-Western Railway. This company had several postal vessels which connected to the nearby railway terminal.
When the East Pier light became a three-keeper station in 1949, the Principal Keeper moved into the dwelling of the unmanned West Pier Light. His two Assistant Keepers and their families were accommodated in the dwellings at the base of East Pier tower. The families moved out in March of 1955 when this light was automated.
Dun Laoghaire East & Dun Laoghaire West (CIL)
Photos to be updated