Please note that any items in RED means there is a fuller version relating to this particular name or subject, which can be found in the Main Search index.
Position: 52°13.2' N 6°56.0' W
Location: 3 miles north of entrance to Waterford Harbour,Co Wexford, Ireland
Duncannon Fort originally established: 1774
Duncannon North Established: 1838
Tower Composition: Locally quarried stone
Focal Height of Duncannon Fort Light: 53 ft (16.15 m) above mean high water
Focal Height of Duncannon North Light: 128 ft (39 m) ) above mean high water
Designer Duncannon North Light: George Halpin (snr)
Duncannon North Light First Lit: 14th April 1838
Original Light Characteristic: Fixed white light
Visible Range on clear night: nominal 16 nautical miles
Automated: Not known at this time
The Duncannon Fort light is located three miles north of the entrance to Waterford Harbour Co Wexford, Ireland. There is a history of lights that dates back to 1774 when George III of Great Britain (1738-1820) opposed the Catholic emancipation in Ireland and the reforms in the American colonies.
Although this King probably suffered from porphyria and had reportedly repeated attacks of insanity, he still managed to convince his Government ministers to construct several forts in Ireland for his occupational forces. Duncannon Fort was one such venue, which also provided a navigational light for His Majesty's Ships.
In Finlays Lighthouses of 1885 he states that the Duncannon Fort light was shown in one tower, with one bright fixed white upper light and a lower static red light.
George Halpin (snr) is recorded as the designer of the Duncannon North Light which along with the Duncannon Fort lights, formed a pair of leading lights for guiding ships clear of the dangerous sand bar of Duncannon. This lighthouse was established in 1838 and was originally the Roche Point lighthouse built in 1817. The Irish Lighthouse Board had this small tower dismantled and transported then erected at the site of Duncannon 3 miles to the north of the fort.
It was originally an oil-burning light but was converted to acetylene in 1937. In 1971it was converted to electricity.
Duncannon Fort Front & North Rear Range Lights (CIL)
Photos to be updated