Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Please note that any items in RED means there is a fuller version relating to this particular name or subject, which can be found in the Main Search index.


Position:  529.0' N 655.9' W
Location:  Pier head light west of entrance into Waterford Harbour, Co Waterford, Ireland
Present Tower Built:  1825-26
Tower Composition:  Locally quarried stone
Height of Tower: 36 ft (11 m)
Designer: 
Alexander Nimmo (1783-1832
Focal Height of Light:  44 ft (13.4 m) above mean high water
First Lit:  10th June 1826
OriginalLight Characteristic: Fixed red light
Visible Range on clear night: nominal 5 nautical miles
Automated: 1922


History:

During the early part of the 19th century the only light that was guiding ships into the entrance of Waterford Harbour was the Hook Head lighthouse. As the trade increased in the harbour by 1812 it became obvious that new measures were required.

In 1822 Alexander Nimmo, a Scottish Engineer, was commissioned to modernise the harbour and to build a new pier. Part of this project was the construction of a small lighthouse, but in his artistic way he was determined that the structure would be more than the usual tapering cylindrical tower.

During the early part of 1825 work began on the Dunmore pier light. When completed in 1826 its design of fluted Doric columns and cast-iron lattice balcony made it unique among Irish lighthouses. 

Up to 1922 the light was produced by oil lamps at which time when it was converted to acetylene gas. When this conversion was completed it became an unmanned station with the only maintainence required being a keeper checking the gas supply every six months. However various records state that the keepers at Hook Head regularly visited the small lighthouse and kept it in pristine condition.

It was not until 1964 that the light was converted to electricity.


                                                 

Dunmore East (CIL)
Photos to be updated