Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Photo with kind permission of Trinity House

Please note that any items in
RED means there is a fuller version relating to this particular name or subject, which can be found in the Main Search index.

POSITION 54 06'.97 N 00 04'.86 W
Location:   North Sea coastline, between Whitby and Spurn Point
No. On Admiralty List of Lights:  2582
Present Tower Built:  1806
Tower Composition:  Local masonry
Height of Tower: 88 ft 6 ins (27 m)
Designer: 
Samuel Wyatt
Builder: John Matson of Bridlington
Cost at time of construction: 8,000
Focal Height of Light:  213 ft 3 ins (65 m) above mean high water
First Lit:  1st December 1806
Light Characteristic:  four white flashes every 15 seconds
Visible Range on clear night: nominal 24 nautical miles
Radar Beacon: Morse 'FB' on vessel's radar display 
Automated: 1996
Keepers left: 8th May 1996

A lighthouse was first established at Flamborough by
Sir John Clayton in 1669, but was never kindled. The name Flamborough was first thought to be derived from it being the place of the flame, but in the domesday book the word is spelt 'Flaneberg', possibly from the Saxon 'Flaen' meaning a dart, which the shape of the headland resembles.

The present lighthouse, designed by architect
Samuel Wyatt, was built by John Matson of Bridlington in 1806 at a cost of 8,000. It was first lit on 1st December of that year.

The original lighting apparatus was designed by
George Robinson and consisted of a rotating vertical shaft to which was fixed twenty one parabolic reflectors, seven on each of the three sides of the frame. Red glass covered reflectors on each side, giving for the first time in lighthouse characteristics two white flashes followed by one red flash. This was an innovation quickly adopted elsewhere. The lighthouse was oil-burning, with an equivalent candle power of 13,860.

The following description of Flamborough Lighthouse is taken from Joseph Cotton's 'Memoir on the Origin and Incorporation of the Trinity House of Deptford Strond' written in 1818.

'The site of Flamborough-head was of all others the most calculated for a lighthouse, either for coasters or vessels from the Baltic and North Sea, but it was not concurred in by the trade until lately, when its utility having been admitted, the present lighthouse was erected, and the light exhibited upon the principle of the Scilly light, but with coloured red glass in front of the burners, by which it is distinguished from Cromer. '

The lighthouse has continued its role as a waypoint for deep sea vessels and coastal traffic as well as marking the headland for vessels heading for the ports of Scarborough and Bridlington.

In 1940 the Flamborough Lighthouse was electrified and further modifications took place in 1974. An electric fog signal was installed in 1975 replacing diaphone apparatus. In former times a rocket was discharged every 5 minutes in foggy weather reaching an altitude of 600 ft (183m)

Flamborough Lighthouse was automated in early 1996, the keepers leaving on 8th May. The existing aids to navigation were retained with standard Trinity House equipment replacing the lampchanger and optic drive. The fog signal was refurbished and a standard fog detector fitted. The lighthouse is now controlled and monitored from the
Trinity House Depot at Harwich.

Flamborough Head