Make your own free website on Tripod.com
 
Halpin, George (snr) | Halpin, George (jnr) | Hartley, Jesse | Hartley, John B. | Henderson, D.M. | Hood, David W. | Hunt, Philip W. | Hyslop, Peter H.
Halpin, George (snr)  (?? - 1854)

Surprisingly there is very little information about this engineer or in fact the Halpin family. This seems somewhat strange when considering the father and son combination designed and built more than 50 lighthouses.
This engineer was appointed to the position of Chief to the Corporation for Preserving and Improving the Port of Dublin around 1810. Government Papers note that around 1810-11 he sent in a formal report about the condition of the Irish Lights.
In 1845 he was recorded as the Inspector and when he died referred to as the Engineer.
Towers accredited to this engineer was Inishtrahull (1812), Howth Baily (1813), Tuskar Rock (1815) and two towers on Great Skellig, one on Maidens Rocks, along with lighthouse for Eagle Island, Black Rock and Sligo.
However during the 42 years as a lighthouse engineer it is noted that most projects were in fact a joint undertaking between father and son.




Halpin, George (jnr) (Life Span Unknown)

Son of George Halpin (snr). He assisted his father from 1830 and officially took over as the 'Engineer' for the Irish Lighthouse Board (sic) in 1849. He is accredited for the design and building of the Old Head of Kinsale, Eeragh and Inisheer (1853) and the Fastnet (1854). He is believed to have died around 1860.

(More info in reference sources)





Hartley, Jesse (1780-1860)

This engineer was born in Pontefract, Wales. He became the Engineer for the Bolton & Manchester Railway and Canal Company. Later he was appointed as the Chief Engineer to the Mersey Docks and Harbour Board, a post he held until 1861. While in this appointment he designed and supervised the building of the lighthouse at Lynas Point (1835) and a similar structure at Crosby (1847).

(More info in reference sources)





Hartley, John B. (Life Span Unknown)

He was the son of Jesse Hartley, who he succeeded in the appointment as Chief Engineer for the Mersey Docks & Harbour Board. He is accredited with the designing and building of Plover Scar (Lune) (1848).

(More info in reference sources)





Henderson, D.M. (Life Span Unknown)

He was the First Engineer (Chief) for the Chinese Marine Department of the Customs (1869-1898). His responsibilities included 34 lighthouses, of which 28 were considered to major lights. On his retirement (1898) he was succeeded by J. Reginald Harding (1898-1908), who in turn was succeeded by D.C. Dick (1908-1919). The last of these Engineers was L. Tweedie-Stodart.





Hood, David W. (1874-1924)

He was the Engineer-in-Chief for Trinity House (1915-24). His major contribution to lighthouses was a special incandescent oil burner. This was a more sophisticated system than the former Matthews devise. The principal behind this system was originally discovered by a retired Gas Board engineer Arthur Kitson.

(SEE Incandescent Oil Burner)





Hunt, Philip W. (Life Span Not Known)

He was the Engineer-in-Chief for Trinity House (1951-67). He is accredited with the original designs for the Dungeness lighthouse (1961) and Tater-du (1965).




Hyslop, Peter H. (Life Span Unknown)

Engineer-in-Chief (Director of Engineering) for the Northern Lighthouse Board. He was the designer of the Calf of Man lighthouse established in 1968.