Photo copyright - Philip Plisson.
Please note that any items in RED means there is a fuller version relating to this particular name or subject, which can be found in the Main Search index.
Position: 54°1.2' N 6°4.7' W
Location: wave-washed rock, entrance to Carlingford Lough
Present Tower Built: 1824
Tower Composition: fine cut stone
Height of Tower: 111 ft 6 ins (34 m)
Designer: George Halpin (snr)
Focal Height of Light: 105 ft (32 m) above mean high water
First Lit: 1824
Light Characteristic: 3 white flashes every 10 seconds
Exhibited by day when the fog signal is sounding
Visible Range on clear night: nominal range 17 nautical miles
Auxiliary Light: Fixed red light marking entry to channel into Carlingford Lough; nominal range 9 nautical miles.
Fog Signal: 1 blast every 30 seconds.
Haulbowline lighthouse is built on a wave-washed rock, exposed only at low tide, at the entrance to Carlingford Lough.
The fine cut stone tower was built to a design specified by George Halpin, Inspector of Lighthouses to the Corporation for Preserving and Improving the Port of Dublin, and completed by the Corporation’s workmen in 1824.
In 1965 Haulbowline became the first Irish major offshore lighthouse to be made completely automatic, remotely monitored and controlled from the shore. Recorded messages transmitted information about what was happening at the lighthouse, the appropriate messages being selected by a series of electrical relays. Of course, the remote control and monitoring systems at automated lighthouses today are much more sophisticated.