Photo with kind permission of Trinity House.
Please note that any items in RED means there is a fuller version relating to this particular name or subject, which can be found in the Main Search index.
POSITION 49° 54’.2 N 06° 18’.2 W
Location: St. Mary's Island - Isles of Scilly
No. on Admiralty list of lights: 0006
First official light established: 1911
Designers/Builders: Sir Thomas Matthews - A. Handyside & Co. Ltd.
Original structure: Steel tower
Height of structure: 45ft (13.72m)
Present lighthouse established: 20th March 1911
Height of light above mean high water: 110ft (33.53m)
Visible range of light: 10 nautical miles
Peninnis Lighthouse on St Mary’s Island in the Scilly Isles is a small automatic lighthouse consisting of a metal tower, the upper part painted white and the lower part and cupola painted black.
This lighthouse was established in 1911 when it superseded the lighthouse on St Agnes which had been in operation since 1680.
Peninnis was re-engineered and converted from acetylene gas to electrically powered operation in 1992.