Tuskar Rock (CIL)
Photo copyright - Philip Plisson.
Please note that any items in RED means there is a fuller version relating to this particular name or subject, which can be found in the Main Search index.
Position: 52°12.2' N 6°12.4' W
Location: 7 nautical miles east-north-east of Carnsore Point.
Lighthouse tower built: (1811-15)
Composition of tower: Granite
Designer: George Halpin (snr)
Builder: Corporation for Preserving and Improving the Port of Dublin
Height of tower: 111 ft (34 m)
Focal plane of light: 108 ft (33 m) above mean high water spring tides
Light first lit: September 1815
Light characteristic: 2 quick white flashes every 7.5 seconds, exhibited day and night
Visible range of light: nominal 24 nautical miles.
Radar Beacon: Morse 'T' on vessel's radar display.
Fog Signal: 4 blasts every 45 seconds.
Tuskar Rock lighthouse marks a treacherous cluster of rocks 7 nautical miles east-north-east of Carnsore Point.
The lighthouse was completed in 1815 after 4 years’ work. During construction ten workmen were washed off the rock during a violent storm and another man, a stonecutter, fell 72 ft (22 m) to his death.
The fine granite tower with its bell-shaped base was built to a design specified by George Halpin, Inspector of Lighthouses to the Corporation for Preserving and Improving the Port of Dublin, by the Corporation’s own workforce.
Tuskar lighthouse was converted to electric in 1938 – the first Irish off-shore lighthouse to be electrified.
The lighthouse was automated in 1993.